WSG Gallery


Home         Sculpture         Art Furniture         Gallery Representation         Resume          About         What's New                   


The overriding theme of sculpture for Carl is that it must be non-confrontational and also inviting.  Non-confrontational in that it does not have sharp, cutting edges or commentary that the viewer will tire of easily.  Inviting, so that the viewer can return again and again to experience more and different viewpoints of the sculpture than on the previous viewing(s). 

Sculpture should be a positive uplifting force.  It should also have positive long lasting appeal. These sculptures pass that test.

About the Motion Series
Movement is an unusual activity to catch in stone.  Stone Sculpture is noted for being solid, rooted to the ground, and unchanging.  Exploring unanticipated action is the common feature of the Motion Series. A sculpture caught in the act of falling, another sculpture caught just before it is ready to leap off its' base, another seemingly moving effortlessly across its' base.  All of these are displaying that elusive stone quality - movement. Sculptures in this group include: Embark, Hansou, Kai, Kinpaku, Mizushou, Momentum, Nami 2, Oonami, Precipice, Skating, Soushi, Soushi2 Triptych, Ugokasu, Ukei, and Uzushio.

About the Striving Series
The Striving Series is composed of sculptures that either are inspiring (by trying to motivate you onward) or strong (conveying an attitude of not backing down). These sculptures are characterized by their appearance of an unyielding/unmoving stance or assertive direction-orientated stance. These sculptures use the reality of the hardness of stone to reinforce their message. Sculptures in this group include: Eihei, Gambari, Ikkyou, Kourin, Kyouko, Noboru, Seidai, Shikou, and Toorimichi. 

About the Music Series
Music is an ephemeral medium. It exists as a two-dimensional entity on a sheet of paper called a score.  It exists as a momentary auditory experience in a performance. The Music Series is my way of making a two-dimensional/momentary experience a tangible three-dimensional solid. These gentle sculptures sway (metaphorically because of their design) to a music they either hear or are producing. Sculptures in this group include: Aria, Crescendo, Rhapsody, Syncopation, and Senritsu (Melody)

About the Tranquil Series
The other three series above are about the ability of stone to move or be in motion.  The Tranquil Seriesis just the opposite - it is the ability to be still or quiet.  These sculptures are quiet but joyous works that do not have to shout to gain attention.  They exist.  They just are. Sculptures in this group include: Cherish Embrace Kanryuu, Ookawa, Ptolmey1, Secure Shizukesa, Taihei 1, and Taihei 2.

About the Exuberant Series
The Exuberant Series, as the name implies, is about happiness.  These sculptures, when they were being carved and ever after, always lighten my heart.   They are always cheerful or playful.  Sculptures in this group include: Koddori, Seizui, and Takou.


FAQ      WSG Articles       Links              CONTACT

All artwork, images & content © WSG Gallery 2015